Skip to content

Being an Expert

April 21, 2011

Saw this list on an SAP blog. Had to share.

You can add the words ABOUT <Your Area of Expertise> after each of these.
Here then is Richard’s Top Ten List on How to Know You Are an  <SAP> Expert
Number 10 – Know What You Do Not Know   ABOUT <My Area of Expertise>
Number 9  –  Know What You Know
Number 8  –  Know How to Find Out What You Do Not Know
Number 7  –  Know How to Forget What You Know So You Can Know Something Else You Do Not Know
Number 6  –  Know How to Learn From Others What You Do Not Know
Number 5  –  Know How to Teach Others What You Know
Number 4  –  Know How to Deliver on Promises Made About What You Do Not Know
Number 3  –  Know How to Deliver What You Know
Number 2  –  Know That It Is Not Possible To Know Everything You Think You Know
and The Number 1 Thing That Makes You An Expert
Know How Many Licks It Takes To Get To The Center Of A Tootsie Roll.
 
I hope the above gives some of you insight.  Maybe even some of you laugh.  Some might wonder if this is serious.  It is. 
Translation
10.  Be Humble
9.   Be Confident
8.   Learn
7.   Grow
6.   Listen
5.   Give
4.   Think
3.   Execute
2.   Learn From Mistakes
1.   Know by Doing! 
 Number 1 for me is important.  Do not be one of those that thinks you know because you read it.  Know because you figured it out.

I have a good friend, Jose, whom I consider my SAP mentor. Aside from the fact that we haven’t seen each other for almost 5 years, he’s always tried to help me with whatever career decision I make. Since 2006, my career has taken so many different paths that I’m certain he thinks I’m crazy. Nonetheless, he’s always been a good friend.

Although it’s never been succinctly listed like this before, this top 10 list is exactly what I learned from Jose many years ago working together on an SAP project. So often I would hear people refer to someone else as an ‘expert’, but likely they weren’t. Even Jose deflected that label because he knew there was so much more to learn. I don’t think he realized then that he was an ‘expert’ according every item on this list. I’d like to think he still is. I’d like to think that one day I will have the opportunity to say that I have been able to demonstrate each of these, too. Getting better at #2 is a biggie for me.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. April 25, 2011 9:52 pm

    Glenn,

    This is a good list! Hope things are going well.

    • April 26, 2011 8:35 am

      Thanks, Nick. Certainly can’t take full credit for it, but it’s perfect in our IT fields.

  2. May 25, 2011 1:17 pm

    Words of wisdom!!

Trackbacks

  1. Job Search « GOAL Consulting
  2. Know How to Deliver What You Know « GOAL Consulting
  3. Know How to Deliver on Promises Made About What You Do Not Know (Think) « GOAL Consulting
  4. Know How to Learn From Others What You Do Not Know (Listen) « GOAL Consulting
  5. Growing, Learning, Confidence and Humility « GOAL Consulting

Leave a Reply

